About IIT Roorkee
Call For Papers
Important Dates
Call for Special Sessions
Conference Proceedings
Paper Submission
Organizing Committees
Organizers & co-organizers
Camera Ready Submission
Keynote and Invited Talks
Prev. SOCPROS Conferences
Special Journal Issue
Conference Venue
Nearby Tourist Attractions
Contact Us
About IIT Roorkee
The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee at Roorkee has culminated from the oldest technical institution of the Indian sub-continent, established as the "Roorkee College of Engineering" in 1847 and rechristened as the "Thomson College of Civil Engineering" in 1854. Due to its numerous contributions towards the development of the country for over 100 years, this temple of learning was elevated to the status of a University, i.e. the University of Roorkee, the first technical university of India in 1949. This University of Roorkee was converted to IIT Roorkee by by the Government of India on September 21, 2001, thereby
further elevating it to an Institute of national importance. Over the years, it has built up and maintained an excellent academic reputation. The outstanding achievements of its alumni are a testimony to this. The IIT Roorkee has academic departments in the areas of Engineering, Sciences, Architecture and Planning, Management studies, Humanities and Social Sciences besides many Centres of higher education and research. In addition, IITR has a Campus located at Saharanpur and an Extension Centre at Greater Noida.
Saharanpur Campus ..........(Organizer of SocProS 2013)
The Department of Paper Technology located in the foot hills of Shivalik hills of District Saharanpur (Western Uttar Pradesh) at the Saharanpur Campus of IITR offers academic programs at various levels in Pulp and Paper Technology, Polymer Science and Technology, Process Engineering and Management. The Department has well developed academic infrastructure. Its faculty is engaged in teaching, research and industrial consultancy. The Department is the predecessor of the School of Paper Technology established by the Government of India in 1964, with an aid from the Royal Swedish Government. This school was managed by a society created by the U.P. Government until its merger with the then University of Roorkee in 1978. The school was renamed as the Institute of Paper Technology in July 1968 and subsequently Department of Paper Technology in July 1992. In the year 2001, it is renamed as Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Saharanpur Campus and recently has been trifurcated into three departments namely (i) Department of Paper Technology (ii) Department of Polymer and Process Engineering (iii) Department of Applied Science and Engineering
Greater Noida Extension Centre ..........(Venue of SocProS 2013)
The IIT Roorkee has an Extension Centre at Greater Noida (GNEC) that has an academic block with state of art facilities including computer labs with latest software, a well equipped library and a 100-rooms hostel. It has evolved as a Permanent Marketing Cell in order to showcase IITRs strength and capabilities to industries and organizations, in particular to those located in NCR/Delhi.
To visit IIT Roorkee website Click Here